Google has eliminated its Trusted Contacts application from Google Play Store and Apple App Store. The application was launched in 2016 and permitted clients to share their location and gadget action to their selected contacts. Google will stop support for the application from December 1. Prior, the search giant had disposed of Google Latitude and Google+ Location Sharing.
“Over three years ago, we launched the Trusted Contacts app as a way to help people stay up to date with their loved ones’ whereabouts. Since then, we’ve built this functionality directly into Google Maps with Location Sharing – making it even easier to share your live location with trusted friends and family,” Google said in an email obtained by The Verge.
“As a result, the Trusted Contacts app will be removed from the App Store and Play Store today and will stop being supported after December 1, 2020. If the app is installed on your device, you can continue to use it until then.
If you have created trusted contacts, you can download them from the trusted contacts page until December 1, 2020. After that date, the Trusted Contact app will no longer work and your trusted contacts will be unable to see the live location you are sharing with them from the app,” the mail further added.
Trusted Contacts was at first made accessible just for Android clients however it was likewise launched for the iPhone clients. The application could let a client discover its relative regardless of whether they don’t react. It not just permitted clients to include phone numbers of selected contacts yet in addition share location with those contacts if a client felt he needs assistance. In any case, presently Google needs its clients to get acquainted with the new Location Sharing feature that it has added to Google Maps.
Disclaimer: The views, suggestions, and opinions expressed here are the sole responsibility of the experts. No Bengaluru Bytes journalist was involved in the writing and production of this article.