Kagiso Rabada breaks Vinay Kumar’s IPL record after Delhi Capitals’ clinical win over Rajasthan Royals

Kagiso Rabada broke Vinay Kumar’s Indian Premier League record in Delhi Capitals’ clinical success over Steve Smith-led Rajasthan Royals (RR) on matchday 23 of IPL 2020 in Sharjah.

Kagiso Rabada, with at least one wicket in the last 20 continuous Indian Premier League matches, has become the second most reliable bowler throughout the entire existence of the money rich competition. Thusly, the Purple Cap holder has outperformed R Vinay Kumar’s record in the marquee T20 league.

Most no. of successive innings for a bowler bagging at least one wicket in IPL:

27 Dwayne Bravo (2012-15)
20 Kagiso Rabada (2017-present)
19 R Vinay Kumar (2012-13)
17 Lasith Malinga (2015-17)

Kagiso Rabada has been in heavenly form, having stowed 15 wickets in 6 IPL 2020 matches, including best figures of 4/24, averaging 12.33 with a fair economy rate of 7.50 for Delhi Capitals. The South African pacer is subsequently the holder of Purple Cap as the second-best in the list is Mumbai Indians’ pacer Jasprit Bumrah with 11 wickets this season.

Delhi Capitals recaptured the top position in the IPL standings with a complete 46-run prevail upon Rajasthan Royals on Friday. Delhi posted 184 for eight, the least first innings total at the Sharjah ground this season, riding on Shimron Hetmyer’s 24-ball 45 and 39 off 30 balls from Stoinis.

Kagiso Rabada (3/35) at that point picked three wickets, while Stoinis (2/17), Ravichandran Ashwin (2/22) trapped two wickets each as Delhi excused Rajasthan for 138 in 19.4 overs to make sure about their fifth success in six matches. Rajasthan were never persuading in the pursuit and ended up with their fourth misfortune in as many games.

About Author

Disclaimer: The views, suggestions, and opinions expressed here are the sole responsibility of the experts. No Bengaluru Bytes journalist was involved in the writing and production of this article.